Chakras and Crystal Healing

When you begin to explore the world of crystal healing, you will often hear about chakras. What are chakras? Ayurvedic medicine describes the body as having seven main chakras, which are spiritual centers along the spine located at major branchings of the human nervous system that are associated with a color, function and organ or bodily system. Chakras are subtle, dynamic energy vortices and are as much a part of our bodies as arms or legs. There are specific colors associated with the chakras and most of the time these colors are what we deal with when we lay the stones on the body. I say most of the time because there are those beings whose chakras are changing color. As we reach higher and higher vibrations, those colors become lighter until they are crystal clear. The reason I’m addressing this is that when you begin to do crystal healing or using the stones, you can match the color of the stone to the chakra. After you become more familiar with the stones and what they can do, you can intuit where they wish to be on the body.

It is not surprising that our subtle energy centers are especially connected to the physical body in their location. These colors can become imbalanced and result in physical dis-eases but these imbalances can be corrected through using the appropriate color as a treatment. Physical organs and maladies in the area of a chakra can be treated with stones of the color relating to that chakra. A basic example of this would be using green stones like chlorite or peridot to treat heart or chest conditions, as that organ is influenced by the 4th, or heart chakra. The purported colors and their associations are described as:

Color Chakra Chakra location Function Associated system
Red First Base of the spine Grounding and Survival Gonads, kidneys, spine, sense of smell
Orange Second Lower abdomen, genitals Emotions, sexuality Urinary tract, circulation, reproduction
Yellow Third Solar plexus Power, ego Stomach, liver, gall bladder, pancreas
Green Fourth Heart Love, sense of responsibility Heart, lungs, thymus
Blue Fifth Throat Physical and spiritual communication Throat, ears, mouth, hands
Indigo Sixth Just above the center of the brow, middle of forehead Forgiveness, compassion, understanding Eye, pineal glands
Violet Seventh Crown of the head Connection with universal energies, transmission of ideas and information Pituitary gland, the central nervous system and the cerebral cortex

The First Chakra
Located at the base of the spine and is called the root chakra. Its color is red which changes to a deep silvery rose color as we upward spiral. This chakra houses the sleeping kundalini and is our primal life force. A dark red stone such as Poppy Jasper would be nice in this area.

The Second Chakra
Located in the navel area or the area of the reproductive organs. Its color is orange that becomes peach. It governs the empowerment of self. A great stone for this area is Carnelian.

The Third Chakra
Located in the solar plexus. According to the ascended masters, this is the truth center and the seat of the soul. Its color is yellow, changing to yellow shot through with violet and purple. Often times I will use Ametrine, a combination of the purple Amethyst and the golden Citrine. Another stone that is appropriate is the Obsidian as it helps to dispel illusion.

The Fourth Chakra
The heart chakra. The color of this chakra is traditionally green but is often associated with pink, the color of love. Its color is changing to emerald blue. A good example of that color is the Gem Silica or gemmy Chrysocolla. Rose Quartz, Aventurine, pink and green Tourmaline or any combination of pink and green stones work well in this area.

The Fifth Chakra
Located at the base of the throat. The color starts as a dark blue, and moves to shades of sky blue. This empowers speaking our truth if only to ourselves. Azurite is a wonderful stone for this chakra, as is Lapis. Kinoite is more of a sky blue.

The Sixth Chakra
The third eye. Indigo blue or violet, moving to a light violet, are the colors representing this chakra. This area allows you to see without eyes as your senses develop. Here, too, you may use Lapis, Amethyst or even Sugilite. This is truly a spiritual, psychic center.

The Seventh Chakra
Known as the crown chakra, it lies at the top of the head. Its color is violet or white moving to golden white. This is the center for communication with higher sources and greater spiritual knowledge. Amethyst and Clear Quartz are the main stones used in this area.

The Newest Chakra
Located in the thymus area between the heart and the throat. The color was explained to me as like the burning embers of a dying campfire. This chakra represents the shift in consciousness that we are beginning to experience. It carries the energy of the Christ. Bustamite is a great stone for this area as is Crocoite. You might even use Sugilite.

As with any information of this sort, definitions will vary depending on what information is received by the author. Crystals are multi-dimensional and can do many things so it is conceivable that you would use totally different crystals in different chakras. Keep in mind that there are many chakras above, below and around the body. I’m sure we will be exploring them before long. Enjoy your journey through the chakras.